Mastering the Craft of Writing Student eBook

Mastering the Craft of Writing Student eBook


Mastering the Craft of Writing Student Book aims to improve students’ knowledge of writing as a craft in order to develop their skills as writers of fiction and nonfiction pieces. It has been designed to fulfil the requirements of the NSW Stage 6 English Year 12 Module C: The Craft of Writing.

This student book asks students to consider the idea of writing as a craft and the reasons why it is important to think about the skill set that writers need to expand in order to improve the quality of their writing. From here, students explore how writers use different language devices, textual features, form, and style to influence the way readers respond to their writing.

And, they are given plenty of opportunity to practice applying this knowledge in their own writing by answering a variety of practice exam-style questions!

Included in this book is a selection of prescribed texts from the Year 12 Module C course. This selection of texts has been divided into the Standard and Advanced courses to make it easy for you to find the texts you need to focus on. The activities for each text have been designed to demonstrate how these texts can be used as both models for students to emulate in their writing, and stimulus for their writing.

The prescribed texts covered in this student book include:

  • ‘The Pedestrian’ by Ray Bradbury

  • ‘Report on the Shadow Industry’ by Peter Carey

  • ‘The Sporting Spirit’ by George Orwell

  • ‘A Comparison’ by Sylvia Plath

  • ‘First Speech to the House of Representatives as Member for Barton’ by Linda Burney

  • ‘The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination’ by JK Rowling

  • ‘Popcorn’ by Carol Chan

  • ‘Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening’ by Robert Frost

  • ‘Love and Honour and Pity and Pride and Compassion and Sacrifice’ by Nam Le

  • ‘Politics and the English Language’ by George Orwell

  • ‘A Home in Fiction’ by Geraldine Brooks'

  • ‘Eulogy for Gough Whitlam’ by Noel Pearson

  • ‘Father and Child’ by Gwen Harwood

  • ‘The Lady of Shallot’ by Alfred Lord Tennyson

*NEW* Download our Supplementary Chapter on Margaret Atwood’s ‘Spotty-Handed Villainesses’!

Authors: Emily Bosco and Anthony Bosco

Format: PDF download, 146 pages

ISBN: 978 1 925771 24 4

Add To Cart